The next Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) elections will take place on Thursday 2 May 2024.

Police and Crime Commissioners are elected by the public to ensure the policing needs of communities are met as effectively as possible and to oversee how crime is tackled in your police force area.

Voters in Herefordshire will be voting for a Police and Crime Commissioner for West Mercia Police Area.

West Mercia Police Area is divided into five localities covering Herefordshire, North and South Worcestershire, Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin, which includes the following nine local authorities:

  • Bromsgrove
  • Herefordshire
  • Malvern Hills
  • Redditch
  • Shropshire
  • Telford & Wrekin
  • Worcester
  • Wychavon
  • Wyre Forest

The Police Area Returning Officer for these elections is David Sidaway, Darby House, Lawn Central, Telford, TF3 4JA (Telford & Wrekin Council).

We will publish information and official notices about the Police and Crime Commissioner elections on this page, both before and after the poll.

For more information about your current Police and Crime Commissioner, visit the West Mercia PCC website.

More information on candidates for the 2 May 2024 election will be available from 18 March 2024 on the Choose my PCC website.
A booklet delivery service will also be available from 18 March 2024 and can be accessed by telephoning 0300 1311323.

New legislation over the past 12 months has seen the introduction of voter ID, better accessibility for people voting at polling stations and changes to postal vote handling. To find out more please select the links below: