We use cookies

Severe weather conditions - Flooding

Herefordshire is experiencing significant and widespread flooding. Please avoid any unnecessary travel and do not enter flood water.

District ward and parish, town and city council elections take place on Thursday 2 May 2019

Polls open on Thursday 2 May 2019 for the local government elections.

Councillor elections for 52 district ward seats which make up Herefordshire Council will take place. The ward seat for Ross North ward will remain vacant following the death of a candidate, and the new poll date has been rescheduled to Thursday 6 June 2019.

Thursday will also see elections for Herefordshire’s parish, town and city council elections, including Ross-on-Wye North Parish Ward (to form Ross Parish Council).

Due to the number of contested district and parish elections, counting of the votes will be on Friday 3 May 2019. The district election vote count will be completed in the morning, followed by the parish council vote count in the afternoon.

Local government elections select councillors who are responsible for making decisions on running services in your local area. These include housing, education, transport, highways, planning, social care and waste management.

Polling stations open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 2 May 2019. All polling stations in Herefordshire are accessible and polling station staff are trained to help in any way they can. A magnifying glass, a blind selector device and a copy of the ballot paper in large format are available in every polling station.

Postal votes must be received by 10pm on Thursday 2 May 2019. If you miss the post, you can hand it in to the electoral team at Hereford Town Hall or at any polling station in the electoral area before 10pm on Thursday 2 May 2019.

Find out who is standing for election in your ward or parish on the Herefordshire Council website www.herefordshire.gov.uk/forthcomingelections

Published: Tuesday, 30th April 2019