Portfolio changes confirmed from 1 December 2017

Herefordshire Council has announced changes to the Cabinet Member portfolios.

Leader of Herefordshire Council, Councillor Tony Johnson, has streamlined Councillor David Harlow’s member responsibility so he will become Cabinet Member for Economy and Communications. This enables Councillor Harlow to focus on economic development, regeneration and the Hereford Enterprise Zone in line with Herefordshire Council’s priority to support the growth of the local economy. Councillor Harlow will also have responsibility for broadband and communications strategy.

Councillor Nigel Shaw will add corporate services to his portfolio to become Cabinet Member for Finance, Housing and Corporate Services. As part of his corporate services remit, Councillor Shaw will take on additional responsibility for areas such as emergency planning and business continuity, legal and democratic services, registration and coroner services, human resources and health and safety.

Councillor Barry Durkin will become Cabinet Member for Transport and Regulatory Services as he broadens his portfolio with responsibility for environmental health, trading standards, licensing, bereavement services and markets and fairs.

Councillor Bramer, Cabinet Member for Contracts and Assets, will take responsibility for shared services and contract management policy.

Councillor Paul Rone, as Cabinet Member for Health and Wellbeing, will incorporate community engagement and development into his portfolio.

Councillor Tony Johnson, Leader of Herefordshire Council, said:

“The Cabinet Member portfolio changes are designed to support our commitment to economic growth, building houses and creating jobs across the county.”


The full list of Cabinet Members as of 1 December 2017:


Councillor Tony Johnson

Leader of the council / Corporate strategy and budget


Councillor Jonathan Lester

Deputy leader of the council / Young people and children’s wellbeing


Councillor Harry Bramer

Contracts and assets


Councillor David Harlow

Economy and communications


Councillor Nigel Shaw

Finance, housing and corporate services


Councillor Paul Rone

Health and wellbeing


Councillor Philip Price



Councillor Barry Durkin
Transport and regulatory services

Published: 1st December 2017