New appointments elected at Full Council

Herefordshire Council's meeting at Full Council has today (Friday 19 May) elected Councillor Tony Johnson as Leader of the Council, Councillor Brian Wilcox as Chairman of the Council and Councillor Philip Edwards as Vice-Chairman of the Council.

The meeting at Full Council also saw the adoption of the new Herefordshire Council constitution. The constitution - which acts as the council's rule book - explains and regulates how the council operates, how decisions are made and the procedures which are followed to ensure that decisions are efficient, transparent and accountable to the public.

Adoption of the new constitution will see the establishment of three scrutiny committees with newly-elected Chairs and a merged planning and regulatory committee.

The constitution includes a new guide to public participation, which enables members of the public to submit one question at nearly all meetings of the council, instead of only at Full Council meetings.

The remaining confirmed appointments are:

Adults and wellbeing scrutiny committee

Chairman: Councillor Polly Andrews

Vice-Chairman: Councillor John Stone


Children and young people scrutiny committee

Chairman: Councillor Carole Gandy

Vice-Chairman: Councillor Felicity Norman


General scrutiny committee

Chairman: Councillor Sebastian Bowen

Vice-Chairman: Councillor Elissa Swinglehurst


Planning and regulatory committee

Chairman: Councillor Phillip Cutter

Vice-Chairman: Councillor John Hardwick


Audit and governance committee

Chairman: Councillor Paul Newman

Vice-Chairman: Councillor Chris Chappell


Employment panel committee

Chairman: Councillor Jon Johnson

Vice-Chairman: Councillor Patricia Morgan


Health and wellbeing board

Chairman: Councillor Patricia Morgan

Published: 19th May 2017