Herefordshire Council’s Leader, Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson elected and committee chairpersons appointed

Full Council has today announced how Herefordshire Council will be governed in the 2023/24 municipal year.

Councillor Jonathan Lester has been elected Leader of Herefordshire Council, Councillor Roger Phillips is Chairperson of the Council and Councillor Stef Simmons is Vice-Chairperson of the Council.

Full Council also appointed Herefordshire Council’s committee chairpersons, confirmed as:

Audit and governance committee 
Chairperson: Councillor David Hitchiner
Vice-Chairperson: Councillor Aubrey Oliver

Children and young people scrutiny committee 
Chairperson: Councillor Toni Fagan
Vice-Chairperson: Councillor Liz Harvey

Connected communities scrutiny committee
Chairperson: Councillor Ellie Chowns
Vice-Chairperson: Councillor Ed O’Driscoll

Employment panel committee       
Chairperson: Councillor Jonathan Lester
Vice-Chairperson: Councillor Ellie Chowns

Environment and sustainability scrutiny committee
Chairperson: Councillor Louis Stark
Vice-Chairperson: Councillor Helen Heathfield

Health, care and wellbeing scrutiny committee   
Chairperson: Councillor Pauline Crockett
Vice-Chairperson: Councillor Kevin Tillett

Planning and regulatory committee          
Chairperson: Councillor Terry James
Vice-Chairperson: Councillor Clare Davies

Scrutiny management board          
Chairperson: Councillor Liz Harvey
Vice-Chairperson: Councillor Jenny Bartlett

Licensing sub-committee   
Chairperson: Councillor Polly Andrews

Published: 19th May 2023