District ward and parish, town and city council elections take place on Thursday 4 May 2023

Polls open on Thursday 4 May 2023 for the local government elections.

Councillor elections for all 53 district ward seats which make up Herefordshire Council will take place.

Thursday will also see elections for Herefordshire’s parish, town and city council elections.

Due to the number of contested district and parish elections, counting of the votes will be on Friday 5 May 2023. The district election vote count will be completed in the morning, followed by the parish council vote count in the afternoon.

Local government elections select councillors who are responsible for making decisions on running services in your local area. These include housing, education, transport, highways, planning, social care and waste management.

Polling stations open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 4 May 2023. All polling stations in Herefordshire are accessible and polling station staff are trained to help in any way they can. A magnifying glass, a blind selector device and a copy of the ballot paper in large format are available in every polling station. These elections will be the first time that voter ID will be required to be shown by all voters at a polling station. This has been introduced under the Elections Act 2022.

Postal votes must be received by 10pm on Thursday 4 May 2023. If you miss the post, you can hand it in to the electoral team at Hereford Town Hall or at any polling station in the electoral area before 10pm on Thursday 4 May 2023.

Find out who is standing for election in your ward or parish on the Herefordshire Council website.

Further information about voter ID can be found at www.herefordshire.gov.uk/voterID

Published: 28th April 2023